I Climbed a Volcano and It Was Awesome

A few months ago, I drove my 13-year old car – the one with the gas gauge that reads Empty regardless of its actual state – 20 miles out into the desert of New Mexico so I could climb a volcano for Popular Mechanics. The resulting article was posted today, and here it is for your enjoyment:

“Get Out There: New Mexico Desert Volcano Adventure”

I was surprised by both how remote Aden Crater is and how accessible it is.  In a time and cultural setting where most experiences are structured and packaged in some way, it felt very adventurous to just drive into the middle of nowhere, find a volcano, and climb around on it.  It’s an experience I’m still very glad to have had and shared with my husband, who is the best adventuring partner anyone could ask for.  Looking back on it from my motel room in Tucumcari, New Mexico, on my way to a new home in Kansas, I think it’s one of the coolest things I did with my time out West.  Most of all, I’m really excited to have the chance to share it with the awesome people who read Popular Mechanics.

For more adventures in the borderland, you can also read all about

Leave a Reply

